Deepgrid Semi
DG32 · LOCKSTEP RISC-V MOTOR-CONTROL SILICONFIRST SILICON · SEP 2026
Discuss your application

Every figure says how it was obtained

DG32 is pre-silicon as of September 2026, and it is the furthest along of DeepGrid's ten chips. This page takes each kind of evidence behind the site's numbers in turn, with the moment in the narrated films where it is explained, then says what the other nine chips rest on.

Illustration of a validation bench: an FPGA development board wired to a small motor-drive board, with an oscilloscope out of focus behind
Illustration of the pre-silicon stage: before a chip exists, the evidence is simulation, static timing and logic run on an FPGA.

Nothing here is measured on silicon yet. Every figure says what it rests on instead.

No measured silicon results: first silicon is on the September 2026 multi-project shuttle and bring-up has not started.

Until then, each of the 16 load-bearing figures on this site is one of five kinds of evidence, or a design decision that measures nothing. They are different kinds, not steps on a ladder, and each one below lists the figures that rest on it.

The applications page places DG32 among ten chips. The other nine have no silicon at all yet, so the last section says what each of them rests on instead.

Three claims in our own sources failed verification. This site does not make them.

The source documents carry figures this site leaves out. Each was checked and found wrong in a way that matters, so it is printed here with the reason rather than quietly dropped.

  • ₹1.01 Cr contracted, Indian Army MCEME, attached to Chip 4Verification found it materially misdescribed: ₹23.01L delivered, ₹78.39L is L1 (lowest bidder, not an award), and it sits in Deepgrid Datacentre Pvt Ltd rather than Deepgrid Semi, with MCEME-owned IP.
  • 39.3 TOPS measured on FPGAA derivation, not a measurement. The Artix-7 board ceilings near 1.8 TOPS.
  • 12.9× cheaper than MobileyeCategory error: their ASP against our die cost. Loaded with NRE at plan volumes the advantage is about 2.3×.

Simulated

Simulation shows the design behaves as intended before any silicon exists.

Measured in simulation of the design as built. It shows the logic does what it should. A bench measurement on first silicon is what confirms it.

“This is the safety core. MAIN runs the application. CHECKER runs the same instructions two cycles later, on the same inputs, and the comparator checks every committed store. On a mismatch, the first cause is latched and FAULT_N goes low. Route that pin to the gate-driver enable, and the bridge turns off in hardware, without waiting for firmware.”

DG32-LITE architecture film · slide 6 · 2:33–2:59
6 figures rest on simulated evidence
FigureWhat it measuresSource
39 cyclesInjected fault to FAULT_N asserted and the PWM bridge disabled, with no firmware in the pathDG32-LITE Architecture Guide
~100 kHzClosed current-loop rate, the simulated ceiling: about 5 µs acquisition plus 5 µs computeDG32-LITE Architecture Guide
~300 cyclesFixed hardware cost per loop: one ADC sample, two CORDIC operations and a PWM write, at any loop rateDG32-LITE Architecture Guide
177 cyclesOn-die SAR ADC conversion, fired by the PWM at the current-ripple nullDG32-LITE Architecture Guide
53 to 58 cyclesOne CORDIC sin/cos or rotation operationDG32-LITE Architecture Guide
~8 cycles per instructionCost of a CPU instruction on this fetch-bound core, used to convert the cycle budget into instructionsDG32-LITE Architecture Guide

Post-route

Post-route timing is checked on the laid-out design, which is still not silicon.

Static timing on the placed-and-routed hardened design. It accounts for real wire lengths, but it is still a layout result: the silicon numbers come with bring-up.

“Splitting the clocks worked: both domains close timing after place-and-route, with positive slack. The fifty megahertz control side has zero point three nanoseconds of slack, and the one hundred fourteen megahertz engine side zero point one nine, on a die of three point four by four point five millimetres. Those are layout results, not silicon; the silicon numbers come with bring-up.”

DG32-2DOM architecture film · slide 11 · 4:50–5:17
1 figure rests on post-route evidence
FigureWhat it measuresSource
55 to 62 MHzMaximum frequency of the lockstep core on the placed-and-routed design, which is what sets the 50 MHz clockDeepGrid Datasheets Engineering Specification

Analytic

Analytic figures are arithmetic on the architecture, and a bench measurement replaces them.

Derived from the architecture, not yet run on a bench. Where a cost is plain arithmetic, it can be worked out before silicon. Nothing has run it yet.

“The engine's cost can be worked out before silicon, because it is plain arithmetic. At sixteen lanes and four hundred keys, with keys of thirty-two bytes and values of sixty-four, combining the values takes half of each row, about sixteen hundred cycles. Scoring the keys takes a quarter, requantising about seven hundred, and the divide just forty-eight, roughly thirty-two hundred and forty in all. A bench measurement replaces that estimate once first silicon arrives.”

DG32-2DOM architecture film · slide 10 · 4:18–4:50
2 figures rest on analytic evidence
FigureWhat it measuresSource
82%Available DIAGNOSTIC headroom at a 10 kHz FOC rate: core clock cycles left after the hardware datapath AND the control firmware. Not the same quantity as the cycle budget, which is the period minus the fixed hardware cost alone and is 94% at the same rate.DG32 AI Architecture
198 daysRTL to GDSII shuttle loop on the verified SkyWater factory calendarMature-Node Silicon System Architecture

Tool estimate

The power figure is a tool estimate, not a measurement.

A vectorless power estimate from the implementation tools. The implementation tools estimate power without a recorded switching pattern behind it. It is not a measured figure.

“Power is simple. All logic, memory and the ADC draw from the one point eight volt user rail. The other user rails are unused, and are tied to their nominal voltage only to keep protection structures biased. Bring up three point three volts before or together with one point eight. The tool estimate is about zero point four three watts at fifty megahertz.”

DG32-LITE datasheet film · slide 7 · 2:48–3:15
1 figure rests on tool estimate evidence
FigureWhat it measuresSource
~0.43 WVectorless power estimate at 50 MHz, 25 °C and 1.8 V, from the implementation toolsDeepGrid Datasheets Engineering Specification

Process nominal

Electrical limits are process nominals until first-silicon characterisation replaces them.

The 130 nm process limits for each supply domain. Every electrical limit in the datasheet is a design target or a process nominal, and first-silicon characterisation will replace it.

“Every electrical limit in this datasheet is a design target or a process nominal, and first-silicon characterisation will replace it. The core supply runs from one point seven one to one point eight nine volts, and the input and output supply from three to three point six. The analog inputs accept zero to one point eight volts, and absolute maximums sit just above the operating range.”

DG32-LITE datasheet film · slide 6 · 2:20–2:48
1 figure rests on process nominal evidence
FigureWhat it measuresSource
130 nmProcess node. Chosen so the die can take 28 to 120 V transient rails and survive −55 to +125 °C, which sub-10 nm cannotMature-Node Silicon System Architecture

Some figures are design decisions, not measurements of anything.

A pin count or a memory size is chosen, not measured, so it carries no evidence kind. Labelling it “Simulated” would cheapen the word.

5 design constants
FigureWhat it measuresSource
ISO 26262 ASIL-DThe target the lockstep safety MCU is designed against. A mechanism, not a held certificateMature-Node Silicon System Architecture
64 KB boot ROMMask-programmed boot path. Built as logic rather than a memory macroDeepGrid Datasheets Engineering Specification
32 KB SRAMDual-port, on 16 macros: one port for CPU and DMA data, the other for instruction fetchDeepGrid Datasheets Engineering Specification
QFN-64, 9 × 9 mmPackage: 44 signal pins and 20 supply and ground pins, identical on both partsDeepGrid Datasheets Engineering Specification
SKU-4DG32-LITE’s place in the ten-chip portfolio: the lockstep safety MCU. Two sources agree chip for chipSKU Architecture Compendium (Technical Annex v3)

The rest of the portfolio

The other nine chips rest on design documents and FPGA prototypes, not silicon.

Where they go and what they replace are on the applications page, from the portfolio annex. None has been fabricated. Four have named logic running as circuit code on an FPGA, which the whitepaper counts as designed rather than done: 81.25 MHz is, in its words, “a limit of the FPGA, not of our design”. The rest are architecture sheets.

What each chip rests on today. Chip names open the chip on the applications page.
ChipStrongest evidence todayNext stepSource
BLDC motor controllerSKU-1FPGA-validated: the motor control datapath runs as circuit code on an Artix-7 at 81.25 MHz.First multi-project wafer run, cycle 1.Whitepaper v3, §3
Smart-meter SoCSKU-2FPGA-validated: the meter measurement chain runs as circuit code on the same Artix-7.Cycle-1 wafer run, alongside SKU-1.Whitepaper v3, §3
High-reliability power ICSKU-3Architecture sheet; prototyping planned on sky130 20 V devices, production at SCL 180 nm.Prototype on 130 nm, then production at SCL 180 nm in India.Annex v3, sheet 4
RS-485 and CAN-FD transceiverSKU-5Architecture sheet.Cycle-2 wafer run.Annex v3, sheet 6
Voltage supervisorSKU-6FPGA-validated: the supervisor sensing chain runs as circuit code on the same Artix-7.Cycle-1 or cycle-2 wafer run; the first chip planned through MIL-883 qualification.Whitepaper v3, §3
77 GHz 4D radarSKU-7Architecture sheet. The SiGe front end has no FPGA equivalent, so it is proven on silicon or not at all.IHP wafer run, FY28.Annex v3, sheet 8
Rugged display driverSKU-8Architecture sheet.Cycle-3 wafer run.Annex v3, sheet 9
Zonal gatewaySKU-9Architecture sheet.Not stated on the sheet.Annex v3, sheet 10
D100 drone SoCD100FPGA-validated: the drone position engine runs as circuit code on the same Artix-7.Track B: scoped and funded separately from the nine SKUs.Whitepaper v3, §3

What this site does not claim, and where to check what it does.

  • No functional-safety certification. Hardware lockstep is a mechanism, not a certificate.
  • No sign-off result for the tape-in die: the four gates it must pass are listed, not reported as passed.
  • No price or cost claims against any competitor.
  • No silicon result for the other nine chips: none is on a shuttle, and they rest on architecture sheets and logic validated on an FPGA. The one DeepGrid chip returned so far is a 130 nm test chip made on its own flow (whitepaper v3, §3).
  • No market size or price for the wider portfolio: the annex market tiles are rough internal estimates and are not shown. The only revenue figures on this site are the plan targets on the company page, which are not results.

Every figure above was located in its source document, and a build gate re-runs that search and fails when a source stops carrying a figure.